Newsroom | MAG Elects New Officers

MAG News

Phoenix Mayor Kate Gallego was elected as chair of the Maricopa Association of Governments (MAG) Regional Council during the agency’s annual meeting.

Proposition 400, Air Quality, Homelessness Are Priorities for Phoenix Mayor Kate Gallego

Regional Council

Phoenix Mayor Kate Gallego was elected as chair of the Maricopa Association of Governments (MAG) Regional Council during the agency’s annual meeting. As the agency’s new chair, Gallego said the extension of Proposition 400 will be her top priority.

“Our most pressing priority is to give voters the power to shape their transportation future through the extension of Proposition 400. The regional strategic transportation infrastructure investment plan is critical to propelling our region forward and to our continued prosperity,” said Gallego.

“Our transportation legacy is one that demonstrates the care we take in data-driven and community-endorsed decisions. We are confident that if provided the opportunity, voters will weigh in and support our transportation plan and that our region will continue to enjoy the benefits of a safe and reliable transportation system,” she said.

Focusing on Regional Issues

Gallego also vowed to focus on other important regional efforts, such as addressing ozone pollution and working to protect the region’s most vulnerable citizens.

“This includes our work in addressing homelessness and coordinating the regional heat relief network to provide shade, water, and cooling resources for those at risk due to extreme temperatures. We continue our work with the age-friendly network, our regional domestic violence council, and providing human services transportation resources,” Gallego said during the annual meeting.

Regional Council Executive Committee

Chandler Mayor Kevin Hartke was elected to serve as MAG vice chair, and El Mirage Mayor Alexis Hermosillo as treasurer.  Those selected to serve as at-large members for the MAG Executive Committee are Buckeye Mayor Eric Orsborn, Gilbert Mayor Brigette Peterson, and Mesa Mayor John Giles. Avondale Mayor Kenneth Weise will move into the position of past chair. The MAG Regional Council consists of 34 members (representing 27 cities and towns, three native nations, two counties, and two members of the State Transportation Board) and serves as the governing and policy-making body for MAG.

Newly Elected Officers

Other newly elected officers for the agency include Mesa City Manager Chris Brady, who will serve as chair of the MAG Management Committee, while Phoenix City Manager Jeff Barton will serve as the vice chair. The Management Committee is responsible for receiving input from MAG technical committees, analyzing the technical and policy implications, and providing recommendations to the MAG Regional Council.

Buckeye Mayor Eric Orsborn will serve as chair of the Transportation Policy Committee, with Queen Creek Mayor Julia Wheatley as the vice chair. The TPC is responsible for overseeing the development of the 20-year Regional Transportation Plan and guiding transportation planning in the region.
All newly elected officers will serve a one-year term.

Published June 30, 2023