A Council of Governments (COG), or Regional Council, is a regional governing body serving local governments and residents in the region.


A Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) is the policy board of an organization created to carry out the metropolitan transportation planning process.


Transportation Management Area (TMA) is a role designated to MPOs in order to ensure greater congestion management and air quality conformity regulations.

A Council of Governments (COG), or Regional Council, is a regional governing body. A COG serves the local governments and the residents of the region by dealing with issues and needs that cross city, town, county and even state boundaries. Tools used to address these issues may include communication, planning, policymaking, coordination, advocacy and technical assistance.

In the late 1960s and early 1970s, emphasis was increasingly placed on the need for long-range planning and closer coordination of program activities by governments at all levels. Federal requirements for planning in areas such as transportation, the environment and human services furthered this need. The establishment of COGs emerged as the preferred approach to this need in many areas.

In Arizona, there are six COGs. Through an Executive Order, the planning boundaries were established by Governor Jack Williams in 1970, in response to federal planning requirements and in an effort to achieve uniformity in various planning areas. COGs, as voluntary associations, have formed within these planning boundaries. In the urban areas, the Maricopa Association of Governments (MAG) and the Pima Association of Governments (PAG) are the regional agencies which also serve as the designated metropolitan planning organizations (MPOs) for transportation planning. In the rural areas of Arizona, the COGs perform planning services and direct service functions such as operating the Area Agency on Aging, the Head Start programs and employment programs.

A Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) is the policy board of an organization created and designated to carry out the metropolitan transportation planning process. MPOs are designated by agreement between the governor and local governments. Federal legislation establishes that the metropolitan planning process for a metropolitan planning area provides consideration of projects and strategies that will support the economic vitality of the of the metropolitan area, especially by enabling global competitiveness, productivity and efficiency.

For large urban areas (over 200,000 in population), Congress provided a greater role by having the Secretary of Transportation certify these areas as Transportation Management Areas (TMAs). Metropolitan Planning Organizations that are designated as TMAs have greater requirements for congestion management, project selection and certification.

The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and Federal Transit Administration (FTA) jointly review and evaluate the transportation planning process every four years. In nonattainment or maintenance areas the FHWA and FTA review to ensure air quality conformity regulations are followed in TMAs.



Interactive Mapping

The Maricopa Association of Governments hosts an online, interactive mapping site that provides a wide variety of viewing and reporting functions.

Visit Site

Arizona Cog/MPO Directors Association

The Arizona COG/MPO Directors Association was established to foster communication and coordinated planning among the Councils of Governments throughout Arizona.

Central Arizona Governments


2540 W. Apache Trail, Suite 108
Apache Junction, AZ 85120
(480) 474-9300
Executive Director: Andrea Robles

Central Yavapai Metropolitan Planning Organization


1971 Commerce Center Circle, Suite E
Prescott, AZ 86301
(928) 442-5730
Administrator: Vincent Gallegos

Lake Havasu Metropolitan Planning Organization


900 London Bridge Road, Transit Bldg.,
Lake Havasu City, AZ 86404
(928) 453-2824
Director: Justin Hembree

Maricopa Association of Governments


302 North 1st Avenue, Suite 300
Phoenix, Arizona 85003
(602) 254-6300
Executive Director: Ed Zuercher



6 E. Aspen Avenue
Flagstaff 86001
(928) 266-1293
Executive Director: Kate Morley

Northern Arizona Council of Governments


119 E. Aspen Avenue
Flagstaff, Arizona 86001-5296
(928) 774-1895
Executive Director: Chris Fetzer

Pima Association of Governments


1 E. Broadway Blvd., Suite 401
Tucson, AZ 85701
(520) 792-1093
Executive Director: Farhad Moghimi

Sierra Vista Metropolitan Planning Organization


401 Giulio Cesare Ave.
Sierra Vista, AZ 85635
(520) 515-8525
Administrator: Karen Lamberton

SouthEastern Arizona Governments Organization


1403 W. Highway 92
Bisbee, AZ 85603
(520) 432-5301 ext. 202
Executive Director: Keith Dennis

Sun Corridor Metropolitan Planning Organization


211 N Florence Street, Ste. 103
Casa Grande, AZ 85122
(520) 705-5143
Director: Irene Higgs

Western Arizona Council of Governments


1235 S. Redondo Center Drive
Yuma, AZ 85365
(928) 782-1886 ext. 140
Executive Director: Brian H. Babiars

Yuma Metropolitan Planning Organization


230 W Morrison St.
Yuma, Arizona 85364
(928) 783-8911
Executive Director: Crystal Figueroa