The Phoenix Metro Area

The Phoenix MSA is home to 67% of the state’s population and has been one of the top growth areas in the nation.

The Phoenix-Mesa-Scottsdale Metropolitan Statistical Area (Phoenix MSA) includes all of Maricopa County and Pinal County and is 14,587 square miles (Maricopa County, 9,223 square miles and Pinal County, 5,364 square miles).

This infographic provides an overview of the Phoenix MSA including demographics, employment, and transportation.

Phoenix MSA Infographic 2019

Click to view/download PDF


The Phoenix MSA has had a higher annual growth rate than the nation since 1980. Annual growth slowed during the recession and has picked up in recent years, increasing from 1.1% in 2012 to 1.9% growth in 2019 for the Phoenix MSA. The MSA continues to show stronger annual growth than the state as well, and is expected to continue this growth rate through at least 2050.


Source: Arizona Office of Economic Opportunity


The annual average 2018 non-farm employment for the Phoenix MSA was estimated at 2.1 million, which makes up 74% of the state’s employment.

The average weekly wage in the Phoenix MSA for 2018 was $1,038 and the average annual wage in the Phoenix MSA was $53,966, putting the MSA in the top 20% of large regions nationally.

Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Current Employment Statistics, Super Sectors Phoenix-Mesa-Scottsdale MSA Nonfarm Employment 2018 Annual Average


FY 2019 Sales Tax Collection


* Transaction Privilege and Severance Tax

Source: Arizona Department of Revenue 2019 Annual Report

The Phoenix MSA collected $4.7 billion in sales tax revenue, which is 72% of the total sales tax collected by the state in FY 2019. The Sun Corridor (Maricopa County, Pima County, and Pinal County) collected $5.6 billion in sales tax revenue, making up 85% of the state total for FY 2019. In total, the state collected over $6.5 billion in sales tax revenue during FY 2019, a 6.7% increase from FY 2018.

Land Ownership (MPO)

The MAG Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) area is 10,654 square miles and consists of 27 cities and towns, three Native American Indian Communities, all of Maricopa County, and portions of Pinal County. Land ownership statistics for the MAG MPO come from the Arizona State Land Department.


Source: Arizona State Land Department, March 2018